Musings, Recovery

you dont have to love me

It’s okay. You don’t have to love me.

You don’t have to understand my struggles. You don’t have to be familiar with my past. You don’t have to appreciate my actions. You don’t have to support me in my journey. You don’t have to be present in my life.

You don’t have to love me.

But you do have to respect that I am a human being. You have to respect that I have rights, emotions, values, a life.

The truth is, if you aren’t going to support me and respect me for who I am, I don’t want you to love me. I don’t care if you do. I may be a people-pleaser, but that doesn’t mean I will accept negativity and tolerate disrespect. We ALL deserve respect. We ALL deserve love.

But you need a certain person to love you. You need someone who understands and accepts your demons. You need someone who sees your past and says: “I don’t care how much baggage you carry. What you have been through makes you who you are, and I wouldn’t trade that for anything.”

When you find that person, keep him/her/them.

It’s okay. You don’t have to love me. I have people who do. I am working on loving me. And I don’t need to be surrounded by those who don’t.

Leave a Reply

